Coverart for item
The Resource Pachinko, Min Jin Lee

Pachinko, Min Jin Lee

Label
Pachinko
Title
Pachinko
Statement of responsibility
Min Jin Lee
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--
Summary
In early 1900s Korea, prized daughter Sunja finds herself pregnant and alone, bringing shame on her family until a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and move with her to Japan, in the saga of one family bound together as their faith and identity are called into question
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • ALA Notable Book, 2018.
  • Loan Stars Favourites, 2017
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2017
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10550780
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3612.E346
LC item number
P33 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
Pachinko, Min Jin Lee
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5840706
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
490 pages
Isbn
9781455563937
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2016023353
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn951711063
  • (OCoLC)951711063
Label
Pachinko, Min Jin Lee
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5840706
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
490 pages
Isbn
9781455563937
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2016023353
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn951711063
  • (OCoLC)951711063

Library Locations

    • Evans County LibraryBorrow it
      701 W Main Street, Claxton, GA, 30417-1715, US
      32.161098 -81.915207
    • L.C. Anderson Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      50 South Kennedy Street, Metter, GA, 30439-0268, US
      32.396305 -82.063141
    • Statesboro-Bulloch County LibraryBorrow it
      124 S Main Street, Statesboro, GA, 30458-5246, US
      32.446201 -81.783699
Processing Feedback ...